Needy. Needy?

On the roads, near the traffic signals, at small roadside vendors and stalls for edibles, various and almost all corners of our towns and cities are accompanied by these NOBODIES. Torn and worn out clothes, dirty and shabby hands and feet, some cuts and wounds hitter and titter, usually found in a group or HERD (more relevant). They usually have their toy from paradise such as a tyre tube or a wooden stick to play with when on duty. A penny or two is all they expect because more than that is like an unexpected lottery. Last night I had a bizarre dream. In conversation with a nobody, ‘a child beggar’.

Photo courtesy: Ashish Patel

He simply said,”Hey, hello, hi!

May I be bold or right away say goodbye.

I’m scared you might just shoo me away

I’m not a stray dog though won’t bite you any other day!

Well can we be friends? No, I mean just here, in this dream.

It’s possible here I hope! No, please don’t say no. I’m scared.

Don’t worry I won’t ask you to stay for long

I know how precious your dreams are.

I know me.

Oh no, not here to beg, not here to cry, not here to make you feel awful.

It’s a dream after all it’s meant to be dreamy.

I’m still scared, to be in this dream, to dream.

My age is 13. As unlucky as you think this dream might be.

But wait! Don’t tell me to leave, please?

I just wanted to be friends! shall we?

No, I don’t want a friend. I don’t have wants. I cannot have wants.

I saw you the other day with your people.

I was right there outside the ice cream parlour.

Did you see me? No? But I was there, right there.

You seemed to be happy with your people. Seemed I must say.

I think you did see me, looked away then.

All of them were so happy. Weren’t they?

Doesn’t matter. They told you about their new car. Didn’t they? The matter.

Oh! A car!

No, I don’t want one. I cannot.

Just let’s be friends?

I don’t eat ice cream though. I eat two days instead.

So, only in your dreams. Be my friend.

Why not in mine?

That’s a stupid question!

I don’t have dreams.”

Author: beenthroughwords

Trying, learning.

17 thoughts on “Needy. Needy?”

Leave a comment